Tier 1 (General)-only extension

Tier 1(General)-extension only

The Tier 1(General) is a points-based system designed to allow highly skilled people to migrate to the United Kingdom to look for work or self-employment opportunities. It gives the opportunity to apply for permanent settlement after 5 years continuous stay. However, this route was closed for initial application on 6th April 2011. Only extension applications will be accepted.

Initially the Tier 1 (General) visa will be granted for a period of two years. After the initial two years people on the scheme can apply for three further years, but must remain economically active.

Eligibility Criteria

Under Tier 1 (General), an applicant must score:

  • at least 80 points for attributes (Age, Qualification, Previous Earnings and UK Experience); and
  • 10 points for English language; and
  • 10 points for maintenance (funds)

Tier 1 (General) scheme – Initial Application has three different criteria for people aged under 30 (20 Points), aged 30 to 34 (10 Points) and those aged 35 to 39 (5 Points).

Points are awarded in this area based on the level of qualifications achieved;

Tier 1 (General) scheme – Initial Application can score for a qualification Bachelor Degree (30 Points), Master’s degree (35 Points) or PHD (45 Points) or equivalent vocational or professional qualification.
Previous Earnings
Points are awarded in this area for earnings based over the past 12 months, where these earnings have taken place are also taken into consideration.

UK Experience
Previous UK Experience (Study) – Initial Application only: 5 Points are awarded in this area if you have been awarded a qualification at or above bachelor’s degree level and have been awarded this qualification within the last five years. Or
Previous UK Experience (Earnings): 5 Points are awarded in this area if you have scored points in the section for previous earnings which were made in the UK.

English Language Requirement
10 Points are awarded in this area if
You are National of a majority English speaking country; Or
You pass English language test which meets Home Office’s requirements (For Example: IELTS 6.5); Or
Your qualification is recognised by UK NARIC as equivalent to at least a UK Bachelor’s degree which has been taught in English and was taken in a majority English speaking country.

Maintenance (Funds)
10 Points are awarded in this area if you have required personal savings which must have been held for at least three months prior to the date of application:
At least £945 if you apply in the UK;

Family members
A spouse will be eligible for a dependency Visa provided they will be cohabiting with the holder of the Tier 1 (General). Children under 18 will be eligible for a dependency Visa. Any dependants must also provide evidence that they meet the Maintenance requirement, which is:
At least £630 if the Tier 1 migrant has been in the UK for 12 months or more;